A month ago, I came across an interested article on how purses were bad for your health. Essentially, purses are too heavy as they are an extension of our home, bathroom, you name it, and can cause neck, shoulders and back pain, as well as headache, tendinitis and so on. Nothing new here, I have pretty much of all of those symptoms. What is new is that this syndrome has now a name… “Poshitis” yep as in Mrs Beckham-itis. I recommend you google “poshitis” and you will have pages of articles…. Just for fun, here is the wiki link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Poshitis.

Here are some of the advices I read to prevent Poshitis, and I have to say, UNACHIEVABLE!

Your purse should not weigh more than 10% of your weight.
Are you telling me that I have to weigh my purse every morning to check that it is not above the 10% mark? And what if I add stuff throughout the day, do I need to carry a scale?

Carry only the essentials.
Ok, I am asking, what are the essentials? For me, beside the usual suspects (wallet, keys, phone, lip balm, tissues…) I have to carry El Mini Monster’s stuff. On any given day, I, at least, have his water bottle, snacks, change of diapers, wipes, toys, so on. Then, what about the days I go to the gym?

Choose a light fabric or small purse.
I am seriously wondering if these writers have been in a store, read a magazine or purchased a purse in years. Haven’t they noticed? The bigger, the better; Studs, pearls or metallic details everywhere.

All that to say, that now I am facing a major dilemma…. Will I sacrifice style for comfort? No, no and no! I will continue to suffer in the name of fashion!

This post had me thinking, and I have decided to start a “Poshitis or not” serie and a “What’s in the bag” one. Stay tuned.

Xoxo
V

