Tags

, , , , ,

Have you seen the new craze in skincare? Snail Essence…. That’s right, SNAIL essence!
It is said to be the new best anti-ageing ingredient, my sister gave me a face mask and I have tested it.

20130815-144812.jpg
Let me tell you, if you are like me, you need to come to term with the fact that you are putting snail goo on your face. I have been looking at the mask for a week now, and couldn’t bring myself to use it.
I finally opened the package and pleasant surprise, it smells good! A nice flowery smell, that’s a good start. Then I pulled the cloth mask and my heart stopped, it was slimy…. And I had to refrain myself to throw it away, and throw up! A few deep breaths later, the mask was in place.

20130815-145624.jpg

What it is supposed to do
As per the internet ( I do not read japanese), regenerate the skin, reduce wrinkle blah, blah, blah…. they all have the same claims.

What it did
I kept it on for 20 minutes, and it felt really good on the skin, fresh and moisturizing. Afterwards, my skin felt clean, fresh and plumped, and looked much brighter. I did not really notice any difference in my wrinkles but that’s not really a big concern for me yet. After 20 minutes, my skin felt uncomfortable, completely dehydrated.

Overall, I liked it, great for tired-looking skin, but if you are looking for an anti-ageing effect, I don’t think it is the right product. Especially since it costs about 10$ a piece.

Piece of advice, make sure you are alone when you apply the mask. My idea was to post a picture of me wearing it but it made me look like the offspring of Hannibal Lecter and Freddy Krueger. Needless to say, you will never see the pix!

Xoxo
V

